Make your own free website on

Home Visit Palawan New Page 1 We Tell us what you think about our web site Palawan

History at a Glance

Archeological findings indicated that the first Filipinos once live in the Tabon Caves Complex, Quezon, Palawan. A skull cap unearthed in 1962, carbonated to be 22,000 years old bore a testimony to this, thus gave credit to the caves as "The Cradle of Philippine Civilization."

Studies shoed that there came three waves of migration from Asia to Palawan passing through the land bridges of Balabac, in the following order: The Pygmies (Aetas/Negritos); the Indonesians - to this group belong the Tagbanuas; and the Malays.

Historical records, also show that long before Spaniards discover the Philippines in 1521, inhabitants of Palawan were already doing commerce with ancient Chinese traders, particularly in the coastal areas of Calamianes. This is evidenced by the sizeable amount of Chinese Porcelains, jars and other relics found in Palawan today.

Palawan was then known as province of Calamianes with Taytay as its Capital. Poor and inadequate transportation and communication however made governance arduous  - thus in 1859 the Province was divided into two, Castillas and Asturias. "Castilla" included Cuyo, Taytay, Calamian, Busuanga and adjacent Islands - with Taytay as its capital. "Asturias' comprised all municipalities south of Taytay down to Balabac. Puerto Princesa was its capital.

Castilla and Asturias were to be short-lied however. In 1862 a royal decree again divided Palawan into Provinces, "Calamianes" and "Paragua." To the former was added Bacuit. And to encourage migrants to settle in these Provinces, no taxes were levied for a period of ten years.

Then in 1873, the capital Paragua was transferred from Taytay to Cuyo.

The Peace Treaty between Spain and United States of America in 1898 gave way to American Regime. In 1901, a Military Government was established with Major John Brown as Lieutenant Governor. Eventually on June 23, 1902 the Americans established the Civil Government of Paragua with Major J. Brown as the appointed Governor. In 1905 pursuant to Act No. 1363 of the Philippine Commission, the name Paragua was changed to Palawan and the capital was transferred from Cuyo to Puerto Princesa.

American governance laid emphasis on Education, Agriculture, Medical Assistance, and Right of Tribal minorities were also considered.

Because of its democratic ways and enlightened policies, Americans succeeded in uniting the people.

All the outbreak of World War II Japanese Imperial forces occupied Palawan on May 18, 1942. They established garrisons in Coron, Puerto Princesa and Iwahig. Consequently guerilla were formed in three sectors led by Capt. Carlos Amores in Calamianes, by Dr. Higinio Mendoza, Sr. (Governor elect 1931-37) in the mainland and Emilio Tumbaga in Brooke's Point.

Palawan was liberated in 1945.

The name Palawan is believed to come from Chinese word "PA-LAO-YU" meaning "The land of Beautiful Safe Harbor" and a Spanish word PARAGUA - which likens the shape of the island to a closed umbrella.

Palawan with its rich historical background is an interesting place to explore...


source: Visitors Information to the Last Frontier Palawan, Provincial Government of Palawan.